Oops, I’m still here

by Katlikegirl

Where did December go? And what happened to November? I think I remember October; it doesn’t feel like it was all that long ago. What, 3 months!? Wow, that’s a long time to have been feeling sorry for myself. Well, the beginning of a New Year seems like an appropriate time to give myself a kick up the posterior and take some steps to look after myself.

If you’ve read earlier posts then you’ll know that I broke my foot at the end of September. If you haven’t read earlier posts, I broke my foot at the end of September; displaced fracture to the 5th metatarsal in the distal third (I think, not good at keeping my anxiety based memory loss in check around hospitals). I hold my hands up and admit that I am still feeling really down about it, not least because I was supposed to be up and running (quite literally) by now but after my last appointment it hadn’t healed as they would expect and I have been told to take it even easier for another six weeks. Thing is, I feel like I hadn’t been doing anything anyway so I’m not sure how to do less than nothing.

I have taken to sitting on the sofa. Alot. Christmas is a good time for this. Lots of lovely food, some better than average TV, good books, flowing booze… Oh yeah, that’s how I have put on nearly a stone in weight over the last month. It sounds alot, but I’m still winning, and weigh less than I did at the beginning of last year so I’m trying not to take it too badly. I’m going to use January to get myself back on track, and until then I’ll continue to eat, drink and be merry.

22 January is my next appointment at the fracture clinic which gives me a good 22 days of detoxing and getting my hopes up about being able to run again. Hopefully by getting up my hopes I will encourage my bones to heal, lest they do have to put in a pin and me in a cast for six weeks. Four months without proper activity is more than enough without having to have an operation and a further month and a half of inactivity. If that happens I fear that hope may never return. Which is why I’ve signed up for a marathon.

Yes, I have signed up for a marathon. While I was in a self pitying stupor on the sofa I had the crazy idea that I needed something to motivate me through the more depessing days. It seems to have worked. It’s an end goal so that no matter what the prognisis is with my foot, and subsequent blood clot, I have to get better in time to run my marathon in September 2013.

Watch this space and I promise to post a little more often to let you know how I’m getting on.

20121229-161348.jpg

