13 in 13 – February begins…

by Katlikegirl

20130205-151237.jpg
Well, the overall goal for this month is to improve fitness following injury.

The good news is, (great news actually) I’m allowed to run! After four months consigned to the sofa, I am finally allowed to run again! The Consultant has said to build up slowly, keep it flat (that’s the trails ruled out for a while) and to wear a cushioned but supportive shoe (I have shiny new shoes!). Baring this in mind, here are my five mini-goals for the month.

1. Run three times a week, gradually increasing pace and distance.
When I got the go ahead on being able to run I took myself for a, very slow, mile run. It went well so I doubled it, at a faster pace, the next time I went out. Still no pain so I think 2 miles is a good point from which I can start increasing my pace and distance. I’m aiming to go out on a Monday, Wednesday and Friday so I have good recovery time between runs. But what to do on my days off…

2. Go for a walk every weekend, gradually increasing distance.
Over the last couple of weekends I have increased my walking distance from 3 miles to 6 miles. While it would be great to double it each week I think I might just take it as it comes and see what I can fit in given the weather and company. I’m wanting to get out more with friends and my Husband; we all have different levels of fitness so that will determine whether I’m being pushed or doing the pushing. Stay tuned for where we get to this weekend!

3. Work on core fitness and stability
While I did do some upperbody work in the first couple of months of incapacity, I let it all go, had a huff and just stopped doing anything. I was by no means a muscle power-house before the injury but I had improved drastically and I’m hoping it won’t take too long to get some of it back again. My aim is to do circuit exercises twice a week on a Tuesday and Thursday and to dedicate more time to strengthening exercises during my post-run stretches.

4. Keep on top of diet and hydration
Following on from last month I want to keep up my good eating habits and safeguard myself from subconcious sabotage. For this, I aim to have three meals a day and to drink at least a litre of water each day. I have a litre bottle to keep with me so I can keep track of my intake and I’m hoping my last goal will help me to fit in my three regular meals.

5. Sleep
Yes, sleeping is one of my goals. Although, there are a few conditions to this sleep.
For five nights out of seven I aim to be in bed by 11pm each evening, read for half an hour and be asleep by Midnight… Sounds simple but we’ll see how I go. This could be a hard one. Following sleep I want to get up in the morning and have breakfast… This means getting up in time to have breakfast rather than clutching to the bed like a moody teenager. Again, I’ll have to see how I get on with this one. I do like my bed, a lot.

So, that’s this month’s gauntlet. I’ll let you know how it goes at the end of the month!

