13 in 13 – January ends…

by Katlikegirl

20130205-145638.jpg
Where did January go? It is usually a month that drags on, but this year I seem to have blinked and missed it; a bit of a whirlwind.

While it has flown by, a lot seems to have happened. Or rather, just slotted into place. Some of my January mini-goals have been easy to achieve, while others have had a varied approach to say the least. Here’s a progress round-up of my ‘Detox’ month:

1. Drink no more than two cups of coffee a day.
Quite proud of myself here, I’ve only slipped with this goal twice, and then there have been days where I had no coffee at all. That’s right, NO COFFEE! I think my subconcious lent a helping hand by breaking the glass of my caffetiere while I was wahing-up. I was gutted at the time but it has limited my intake, partially due to my apathy to instant coffee and also my laziness in not yet buying a replacement glass jug.

2. Drink more herbal tea
Maybe it’s because of the cold weather, this has been really easy to achieve. I’ve nearly always got a cup on the go when I’m in the house and when I’ve been out I’ve opted for tea instead of coffee. I think I’ve won on this one and can only aim to keep it up.

3. Drink more fluid
While my fluid intake has increased with the amount of tea I’m drinking I’m not sure I’m achieving my aim of a litre of water a day. I’ve definitely increased my water intake but throughout February I’m going to make more of an effort to drink more water- this is a rollover goal.

4. Go back to slimming group
Well, I braved the scales and the reality of the whole 10.5 lbs I had gained between 20 November and 8 January. As of 29 January I had dropped 4lbs, not the loss I’d hoped for but a start at least. I know where I have been going wrong, which leads me to mini-goal 5

5. Get my eating back on track
For the most part I’ve got back to eating healthier again. There’s been the odd day I’ve missed breakfast which has thrown the day out of whack and while I’ve recouped it most of the time I have fallen back into a really bad habit… If I don’t eat first thing I can go ages without food; I just don’t get hungry. But then when the hunger pangs I need to eat straight away or I turn into some sort of Monster! When it gets to this point I stay hungry for days (or at least I think I’m hungry, despite eating mammoth quantities of food). February is going to be about putting some safeguards in place to avoid getting to this point and to regulate and sustain my weightloss.

All in all I am happy with my achievements this month. It was by no means an hardcore detox but it has been a step in the right direction and I’m reinstating good habits that can only support me in the overall mission to complete a Marathon this year.

