13 in 13 – February ends…

by Katlikegirl

20130205-151237.jpg
Better late than never…
Well, the overall goal for February was to improve fitness following injury. It’s flown by, barely seems like there was enough time to fit it all in! Here’s a little run-down of how I got on with my mini-goals this month.

1. Run three times a week, gradually increasing pace and distance.
Done and Done! My slow pace now is what my fast pace was pre-injury so I’m quite chuffed. While it’s not quite as fast as I aim to be, to complete a marathon in 4h30m, I think I’m on the right track. I’ve maybe pushed too hard on my long runs but it’s felt good so I don’t think I’m doing myself any harm increasing by more than the recommended 10% a week. I think this is because I’ve been varying my running and not increasing my weekly mileage much more than 10% each week. My long run to increase distance is a solo effort, I can really listen to myself and vary my pace accordingly. Then I take one of my runs with a very active friend of mine, this pushes me to keep up the speed. I’ve also been doing a short run with my Sister-in-law at a slower pace which has been helping to increase stamina, and also keeps my HR in the ‘fat burning’ zone, which is all good!

2. Go for a walk every weekend, gradually increasing distance.
Unfortunately haven’t managed every weekend due to some plans falling through but 2/4 ain’t bad so I’m counting this as a success. Also, while the distances haven’t been increasing, my husband and I have been taking advantage of the lengthening evenings and getting out twice a week after work for a few miles.

3. Work on core fitness and stability
So, this is where I fall down. Slap handies, I just haven’t been that arsed with circuit training. I’ve done a couple of sessions but nothing sustained, this will have to be a rollover goal.
Stretching on the otherhand has been a great success, after each of my long runs I have been doing a good session of yoga with sequences particularly aimed at runners. I really enjoy this so will endevour to find the time to keep it up.

4. Keep on top of diet and hydration
I am so very happy with myself on this one. Over February I lost half a stone 🙂 and I have baked every week! Keeping my meals regular and planning my treats really works for me… must keep it up. Hydration is still going well but I still really have to think about it or I get to the end of the day and realise I haven’t had any water, or ‘corporation pop’ as my mum used to call it. However, my tea-pot and I are never far away from eachother, I’m having at least 2 pots of herbal tea a day so maybe I just don’t need the water?

5. Sleep
Erm… Getting there (she says, in bed but very much awake, and not likely to turn off the light for another hour or so when it is already gone half eleven). Must try harder on this one.

All in all, not too shabby. Big shout out to Weight Wars having goals to comit to is spurring me on no end!

