13 in 13 – March begins…

by Katlikegirl

20130312-234920.jpg

Well, February didn’t stick around for long did it! And March seems to be on a mission to ‘spring’ past as well (b’dum cha)! Anyway, enough with my awful puns, lets get to business and outline some goals before I miss the month all together.

The overall goal for March is to get back to comfortably running 10k. I’m signed up for a couple (one road and one trail) in April so I need to nail this one. My mini goals for the month are…

1. Run 10k by the end of March
Sounds easy enough but… I have never actually run more than 6 miles before. I’ve done a couple of 10k trail races but at some point (or, more specifically, some hill) I walked. I’ve been increasing my distances, and increasing my stamina so, continuing on the same path, I want to be able to run for a full 10k by the end of the month. Longest run to date is 4.6 miles so watch this space!

2. Increase core workouts
Yeah, I know I said I’d do this last month, and I really did want to, but when it came down to it I couldn’t be bothered. Thing is, I want to be bothered. I really miss the bootcamp sessions I used to go to. There’s nothing like a 7:30am Saturday morning gruelling workout and the following pain to make you really feel the progress. The class isn’t running anymore and no-one else wants to do it with me so I’m left to my own devices with this one. Must try harder!

3. Yoga workout 3 times a week.
I’ve been doing a yoga workout with routines for runners after my long run each week, I want to increase this to after every run. While I do stretch methodically after each run, there’s something really satisfying about taking to the mat and working through it all. Call me a junkie but it really does prolong the ‘runners’ high’.

4. Read more
I love reading, but I rarely make the time to sit down with a good book. I have two on the go at the moment and I aim to finish both of them by the end of the month. I will read each evening before bed, which, in turn will help me with last month’s sleep goal which I have yet to improve upon.

5. Eat new things
My diet is great at the moment and the weight is coming off nicely but it can be easy to fall into a rut. I’ve been baking something new each weekend but I want to try adding a few new savoury dishes to my repetoire. I’ll let you know how I get on.

Well that’s the plan, stay tuned for how it goes, and, as ever, many thanks to Weight Wars for spurring me on to keep this up (I promise to be less tardy with my post next month!).

