Tuna Parmesan Fishcakes

Well, I do have to say, sometimes I am a smartypants…
Not only did I lose 2lbs last week, I got home to my lovely dinner after weigh-in and I couldn’t finish my mash! Okay, maybe not the biggest exclamation in the world, but a big step for me. I was brought up under the rule that you finish everything on your plate, whether you want to or not. You were given a helping and could go back for seconds, or everything was laid out and you only took what you could eat lest you be told you had ‘eyes bigger than your belly!’. Probably not the worst insult in the world, but enough to say, don’t be so greedy, don’t be so wasteful.

I’ve carried this with me and if I have overfilled my plate I’ll continue to eat out of habit/superstition/fear of wasting food. But last night I cautiously ate around my mash, eating any that had been touched by gravy, leaving a pile of fluffy, unspoilt potato goodness… I had a plan for this mash…

Fishcakes! So simple, so easy, so tasty. Who says leftovers have to be dull!

20130313-140440.jpg

All I did was:
Pop on the grill to preheat
Beat an egg in a small mixing jug
Finely chop a small onion and add to the jug
Add 2 crushed garlic cloves and some ground black pepper
Add a tin of (drained) tuna and mix well
Sprinkle in a dessertspoon of parmesan
Add a dolop or two of mash until the mixture is firm but holds together
Cover a baking tray with some greaseproof paper
Use your hands to make the mixture into even sized balls, line them on the tray
Press them down gently to make little pattys and pop them under the grill
Cook for 10mins (until golden) then turn over and do the same on the other side

Voila! Tasty fishcakes!

While my fishcakes were under the grill I grated a carrot, chopped some cherry tomatoes, wilted some spinach and popped it on the plate as a bed for my little beauties. Num!