A little challenge and a little rant

by Katlikegirl

Caution – feeling a bit ranty after looking for pictures for today’s challenge…

20130403-105035.jpg

Day 3: A picture of your thinspiration. What features do you like about this person?

Finding a picture was a challenge in itself! Type ‘thinspiration’ into Google and you’ll be bombarded with pictures of tanned and emaciated teenagers, usually just of the the ribs and gap at the top of the legs. Sorry girls, I don’t find that inspiring at all. I’ve got the ribs to show for my weightloss but I doubt my legs could ever be that thin. I’m not sure I’d want them to be. They stand in front of their bedroom mirrors, proudly taking pictures of their shapeless torsos, their hanging stick legs and the achievement of a ‘gap’ between their legs.

My weight loss so far has been from top to bottom (and it’s only just starting to come off the bottom). I’m still coming to terms with the idea that my boobs have gone forever; I don’t think I’ll mourn the same loss for my bottom when it finally heeds the eviction notice it has been served. That’s not fair, sorry bottom, you’ve served me well for the years of sitting around on you that I have done. But now you must serve a different purpose. Now you need to be strong, firm, toned and supple. A base and mechanism to power me forwards as I run my marathon.

This is my thinspiration

20130403-110353.jpg
She’s not stick thin, she’s strong. She doesn’t have bingo wings, she’s toned. The ‘gap’ between her legs isn’t a lack of muscle, it is poise, posture and a supple use of those toned, strong muscles. While I can hold this pose, I have a few more lumps and bumps than the above picture. This will change. Not through deprivation, but through determination.

