Garbage Soup, and other wonders…

by Katlikegirl

‘Oh it’s leftovers for lunch again’ my Granny will often say.

Fine by me! When everything is home cooked, lovingly prepared and, well, just darn right tasty, leftovers are a veritable feast!

She’d often make what she calls ‘Garbage Soup’, a soup made up of everything in the veg rack, the odds and ends that the more wasteful among us would just throw away.

When I was living on my own I’d make myself a huge roast dinner, and live off it for days, a few days of roast dinner, then bubble and squeak and then some garbage soup with the odds and ends that were left over. Simple, cheap and tasty – it would feed me for the most part of a week.

Waste not, want not!

I was making sausage and mash the other day. We rarely have mash, usually opting for potatoes with the skin on, but sometimes it’s just a mash kimd of day. As I was peeling the spuds I began thinking about garbage soup but I didn’t have much else in. Then I wondered about crisps. You know, the lovely artisan ones that have the skin still on. So I wondered about making crispy potato skin crisps.

I popped the peelings into the steamer and whacked them into the microwave for a few mins, just to soften them. Then I laid them out and removed any excess water/starch with a clean tea-towel, squirted them with some low cal olive oil spray and bunged them in an oven on a high heat.

20130417-144103.jpg
Ten mins or so later- voila, crispy potato skin crisps. Husband thought I was crazy for going to so much trouble so as not to waste some potato peelings. But I nipped out for a while and when I came home most of the crisps were gone so I think they were a success!

